Smile, beautiful. 

Let me express myself without judgement.

Anger, disappointment, hurt, sorrow

They’re a part of me not a stereotype.

I can’t always smile. I can’t always perform.

Let me be real and true, not some caricature. 

Awkward, destructive, hollow, sullen

They’re emotions everyone can feel.

I won’t always smile. I won’t ever perform.

©Esther Moreira
Support InstaWriters August Prompts hosted by @journee_nicole and @t.alva

August 8th Prompt – Mad Woman by @kat.savage

Leave a Reply

